[lifestyle] merry Christmas! now let’s see where I am on my 2010 reading list.. uh-oh

my eReader apps

At the beginning of the college school year, I was extremely optimistic, making a reading list of 18 classic/popular books to read. Then life caught up with me and I have now realized some very sad things this Christmas.

What I actually read on my reading list:
  1. The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold
  2. The Godfather, Mario Puzo

What I read that wasn’t on my reading list:

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
  2. My Sister’s Keeper, Jodie Picoult
  3. City of Glass, Paul Auster
  4. City of Glass, Paul Auster, adapted into graphic novel by David Mazzucchelli and Paul Karasik
  5. Collapse, Jared Diamond
  6. The Introvert Advantage: How to Thrive in an Extrovert World, Marti Laney
  7. The Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan
  8. Mansfield Park, Jane Austen (all right, this was more of a reread!)
  9. Household Tales by Brothers Grimm

You can see that I deviated quite a bit from my reading list. I decided to download all the free books I could on Kindle and various apps from sources like Gutenberg. Then, on Monday, I will finally visit the library to borrow all the other books and shut myself until the New Year passes. I even made this handy list:

 

snapshot of my Kindle app.. lots to read :(

NOT READ ON MY READING LIST: (those I found for free on Kindle or in the library are in bold)

 

  1. Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie– library
  2. Interpreter of Maladies, Jhumpa Lahiri– library
  3. Love in the Time of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez– the library’s copy translated by Edith Grossman has been checked out
  4. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez– the library does not have a copy translated by Edith Grossman
  5. The American, Henry James– Kindle
  6. The Maltese Falcon, Dashiell Hammett– library
  7. All the King’s Men, Robert Penn Warren– library only has the DVD!
  8. Madame Bovary, Gustave Flaubert– Kindle
  9. Dead Souls, Nikolai Gogol– Kindle
  10. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, Carson McCullers– library
  11. Bullet Park, John Cheever– the library doesn’t have it
  12. The Magus, John Fowles– library
  13. A Brief History of Time, Stephen Hawking– library
  14. The Prophet, Khalil Gibran– library
  15. The Solitude of Prime Numbers, Paolo Giordano– how do they not have this book? Seriously. =___=
  16. Falconer, John Cheever– mega fail, the only two books the library has from Mr. Cheever is Oh, What a Paradise it seems and The Wapshot Scandal

All in all, I won’t be able to read around six books on my reading list, but the nine that I read makes up for that, right?!!! I can read 10 books in the next six days, right?!!!!

It’s Christmas and Michelle is stressed about being a literature dork.  Happy holidays, I hope everyone has had a lovely Christmas and received great gifts! If not, I hope you received great … gift receipts …

Share your thoughts

