[Book Review in a Paragraph] City of Glass, the novel and its graphic adaptation.

This wasn’t for my personal book list, this was for my class, Translation Theory. I fell in love with City of Glass by Paul Auster. Think Camus, Beckett, Satre, Pirandello, Kafka. My type of crazy, hallucinatory modernist existentialist. Daniel Quinn is a washed out writer whose wife and child died and instead of writing books of poems like before, he writes detective novels instead. One day, he gets a call for ‘Paul Auster,’ a detective who needs to protect Peter Stillman from his crazy, soon-to-be-released from jail, father Peter Stillman.  The introduction to the young Peter Stillman and his subsequent telling of his story is haunting, something I’ll never forget, reading while the rain was hitting my windows in the night.  Daniel Quinn takes on this new identity of ‘Paul Auster,’ detective, and he becomes obsessed with this case. The questions of multiple identities and the regression and progression will blow your mind into a flurry, and when you reach the ending, you’ll either feel (a) confused (b) outraged (c) deeply in love.  I’m deeply in love. The Tower of Babel and Don Quixote, the question of language and imagination, are brought up, in dark and confused radical theories. The parallels between characters are ridiculous and frightening; I didn’t see it at first, but then the horror manifests itself, and then the morbid curiosity sets in. This novel presents questions, and this novel never resolves itself. This novel is dark, and never resolves itself; I think I’m in love. You can see this because I can’t put together coherent sentences.

Verdict: if you are short on time and patience, and yet still want to be pretentious, read the extremely well-adapted, critically acclaimed, graphic novel.  Read both if you have time, the novel first. Do not read if you like happy, complete endings. Instead, I advise you go finish Harry Potter.

One thought on “[Book Review in a Paragraph] City of Glass, the novel and its graphic adaptation.

  1. Pingback: [Literature] merry Christmas! now let’s see where I am on my 2010 reading list.. uh-oh « The Innocent Lam

Share your thoughts

