[book review] The Hunger Games.. I’m hungry, when is dinner coming.. someone feed me..

I watched The Hunger Games movie on the way back from China, and then I saw my brother’s copy of the book lying around this afternoon, so I thought I would finally see what the hubbub was about. Ultimately, there is quite a lot to hub and bub about in The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. It is a fast-paced thriller that is fast-paced and thrilling. The thrilling part is derived from the setting and what happens, rather than from the flat one-dimensional that inhabit its universe. It is not unpredictable; more accurately, I simply turn the page to confirm what is quite obvious. Nonetheless, crafting a story that pushes me to personally confirm the ending– despite watching the movie and reading the Wikipedia article– is no mean feat. In the end, The Hunger Games is still only a young adults’ novel; in this sense, it draws comparison to Harry Potter for its wild popularity for the younger generation. However, as The Hunger Games has only its thrills to rally fans, it falls rather short of Harry Potter‘s multi-generational appeal (humor, mystery, etc).

Verdict: read if you are a so-called ‘young adult’. If you are an adult or old adult, cook me some dinner, because I am hungry.

Extra: I figured out my ‘leisure’ reading speed from reading The Hunger Games. The speed is around 427 word-per-minute (I spent three hours reading it, The Hunger Games is approximately 76,800 words long). To compare, an average reader is around 150-200WPM. Nonetheless, the bottom of the speed-reader pit can easily reach 1000WPM.

5 thoughts on “[book review] The Hunger Games.. I’m hungry, when is dinner coming.. someone feed me..

  1. I’m going to go off on a tangent and ask: you have a brother!? You’ve never mentioned him before! I’m assuming he’s younger than you? Is he a genius/talented person like you are? I am quite curious now.

    Also, good review. (:

    • why thanks! I think I was too hungry at that point to write something nicer T_T

      yes, I do have a brother! We are quite far apart, almost 9 years. As far as I know, he’s doing all right in school. If there’s anything I’ve learned so far in life experience, it’s about seizing the opportunities as well as having some intelligence (not necessary to be ultimate genius to succeed). :D You flatter me, I am not a very smart person at all, despite being smarter than average.

      I see on Twitter you’re still filling out college apps (: Good luck!
      Michelle

    • no, that isn’t what I said. Lots of quick reads are great books, like Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar”. It’s just that “The Hunger Games” is a very lean book in terms of storytelling depth and richness.. it is rather thrilling and not much else– you can read this in a lot of reviews on this book, it largely misses opportunities for allegory and doesn’t go much more beyond a straight-up action scene description.. not that this is a bad thing, everyone likes adventure movies but without substance they really won’t be remembered in the future.

      yes, Katniss could probably do that.. Harry would probably be snivelling in the corner.. jk. ^^ sigh.. thank you for reading and commenting!!
      Michelle

  2. Pingback: [book review] Catching Fire.. I already ate dinner.. | the innocent lam

Share your thoughts

