[persona] possibly the most perfect classical music program I have ever seen

Dvorák: String Quartet No. 12 (“American”)
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Schubert: Piano Quintet (“Trout”)

Emerson String Quartet at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center, NYC, on Monday, 13 August 2012.

the Emerson String Quartet. image courtesy of NYTimes.

If you happen to be in the area and buy a ticket, you can probably see me, hyperventilating in an orchestra seat. To me, Emerson String Quartet is the golden standard of string quartets. However, its cellist, David Finckel has announced he will be leaving the quartet after the 2012-2013 performance season. I have never seen Emerson in person, so as soon as I saw they were booked for Alice Tully Hall in New York, I was like, no matter what the program, I have got to go.

But as soon as I saw the music program, I think I died a little inside. It is amazing. Antonin Dvorák’s string quartet “American” was composed at around the same time as his New World Symphony and just supremely epic Cello Concerto in B minor, when Dvorák was in residency in the United States. Samuel Barber? Adagio for Strings? You know, the piece DJ Tiesto made a dance track off of? Lastly, Franz Schubert’s “Trout” quintet was one of the first pieces of chamber music I have ever heard, sparking my love for a whole other genre, and it is quite possibly the only piece of Schubert I adore to death (Brendel & Cleveland Quartet recording is brilliant).

Now, to decide if I want to sit in row B or row R. I think I might have to pick row B. Legends, man. Last touring year, man. Three hours of euphoria for $75, man.

Excuse me while I go cry in the corner.

One thought on “[persona] possibly the most perfect classical music program I have ever seen

  1. Pingback: [music] why you should see string quartets live. | the innocent lam

Share your thoughts

