[blog] tentative hiatus, 26 May to 23 July 2012

Summer is usually the time I bust out my blogging chops to the max because I have so much free time. However, for a portion of this summer, from 26 May to 23 July 2012 specifically, I will be in China, travelling and studying. China’s government is particularly strict on censorship, and according to Wikipedia, WordPress is blocked there. However, the website GreatFirewallofChina.org says otherwise. Moreover, I have been told if I use a VPN, I will be able to access blocked sites. I do have a VPN installed– nonetheless, just in case it does not all pan out, I will have to warn you I may drop off the face of the (blogging) earth. If I cannot access WordPress using VPN, likewise I will not to be able to access Twitter or Facebook. However, I will be able to access my email, so if you have anything you want to talk to me about, the contact form is the best bet.

Now that we have the boring parts out of the way, I can tell some rather fun/interesting/not-boring things about my trip. I will be in Beijing, Hong Kong, Huizhou, Shenzhen, and Shanghai, at one point or another. In one of those cities, I will be studying Chinese language, Chinese diplomacy, and the Chinese financial market. I have set up a private travel tumblr that I will updating every day; if you would really like to see it, please contact me discreetly, either using the contact form, a DM through Twitter, Facebook message, etc.

I’m looking forward to these two months in China, and I truly hope that I will be able to use WordPress in China, especially with a TVXQ summer comeback in the rumor mill. It would just be too much for me to have a nearly four month hiatus, right?

Share your thoughts

