[drama] quick review of “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho.”

All right, before you hit me and say that I said I was giving up on Korean news (or more specifically, kpop), I watched this drama around two weeks ago, and this post has been sitting in my queue for a whiles.

My Girlfriend is a Gumiho is about Cha Dae Woong (played by Lee Seung Gi) who meets a ‘nine-tailed fox’ or ‘gumiho’ played by Shin Min Ah, and by a series of odd and somewhat endearing events, Dae Woong and the gumiho become boyfriend and girlfriend.

Mr. No was a former drummer with TRAX, under the stage name, "Rose."

Tidied up, this is basically what the notes for this post were:

  • Doctor Ju (No Min Woo) is hot.
  • Lee Seung Gi is hilarious!
  • Shin Min Ah plays her part really well, I do believe that she’s not human.
  • It’s a little on the stereotypical side (their conveniently chaste relationship, the girl being all cutesy and abandoned, the guy being thickheaded and not realizing his love).
  • The drama is not that great or bad.. it’s kind of a dull anticipation because they’re really slow in developing the story, the relationship..
  • Do yourself a favor. If you watch this, skip to Episode 11 and 12. They finally kiss in those episodes.
  • Well, this is another drama I abandoned near the end.
  • Peeve: wtf about the cars, they keep reusing this one silver Infinity.

It is becoming a common occurence for me to abandon dramas at the end because I get too impatient with the creeping storyline and it’s pretty evident that Fated Boy and Girl Will End Up Together.

Or alternatively, the underdog I’m rooting for loses (see Mary Stayed Out All Night) and I subsequently lose interest. Yes,  I admit, I cheer for Sho Fuwa in Skip Beat! because Ren Tsuruga is such a sissy. Handsome sissy, but still a sissy who can’t act on his feelings. Irritating.

My Girlfriend is a Gumiho is ideal for those who have time to waste. You’ll laugh occasionally, spasm at the sight of hot No Min Woo playing vindinctive, love-lorn veterinarian, roll your eyes at the deux ex machinas and awkward kissing that always occur in Korean dramas.

Otherwise, go read some Phillip Roth.

One thought on “[drama] quick review of “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho.”

  1. hi michelle..this me again..yes its park dong ju all about..and his preference to choose hika as nickname..i have already posted comment about this in many blogs..hope smone who know bout that will answer my question..

Share your thoughts

